Issue

Suppression Files, like the name suggests, are used to suppress the error or warning messages given out by a NetDoctor run.
Creating them is easy enough as we just select the rules that are part of the NetDoctor run and check the error messages that we want to suppress. 
But Editing an already deployed Suppression File needs a small side step since you cannot view all the rules that are suppressed from the NetDoctor > Edit Suppressions window.
 

Solution

Firstly, You cannot proactively suppress a message. You can only suppress messages after they have been generated in an analysis run. When you enable message suppression, the analysis engine suppresses the exact message for the exact object and rule specified in the suppression file. If you have configured the analysis engine to suppress a particular warning from a rule for an object, the analysis run still shows you if it detects an error for that rule.
  1. Configure/Run NetDoctor and select the template that is to be run.
  2. Select the Settings Tab and ensure that instead of the Suppression file created you select NONE.
  3. Run the NetDoctor report.
Effectively, the NetDoctor template is being run with No Suppression Files.
This run will ensure that all the Suppression Rules appear under the selected report template and suppression file in the NetDoctor > Edit Suppressions window.
Now you may select additional rules to be suppressed or unselect previously selected rules so that they are now unsuppressed from further runs.

Environment

SteelCentral NetAuditor 18.5.2
SteelCentral NetPlanner 18.7.0
SteelCentral NetPlanner 18.6.1
NOTICE: Riverbed® product names have changed. Please refer to the Product List for a complete list of product names.
Last Modified: 2018-02-28
Can't find an answer? Create a case